Excelsior Springs Historical Museum
This year the Excelsior Springs Historical Museum celebrates the 30th Anniversary of its founding. Much has been accomplished in these 30 years.
The Museum's Mission is to collect, preserve, and present artifacts of the past telling the unique story of the people, places and events that shaped Excelsior Springs from its earliest days to the present. In carrying out this mission, the Museum:
acts as a library, collecting and cataloguing newspapers, photographs, documents, diaries, scrapbooks and both audio and video recordings.
researches and prints stories in local and regional publications, has published a history of the waters and produces THE PHUNN, their annual newsletter.
They give tours of their historic building, the history of Excelsior Springs and the collection to school children, senior citizens, bus tour groups and other visitors throughout the year.
Their slide presentation is regularly shown in schools, to organizations and at class reunions.
They have created exhibits for special events and have installed exhibits in the Hall of Waters at the Worldâs Longest Water Bar.
In addition, they reside in the former Clay County State Bank building at 101 E. Broadway. This building is a monument of architectural achievement built in 1906 by the famous Kansas City architect, Lewis Curtiss.
They have also created a collection of souvenirs including a multi-colored, historic afghan that present events, people and places from the past in a special way.
These souvenir items are on sale at the Museum and local businesses. This special collection includes: New postcards, "Valley of Vitality" pen lite, a "World's Longest Water Bar" bookmark in a gift card and mailing envelope that features the fountain, postcard magnets depicting the famous domed-Siloam Pagoda, The Elms Hotel, the Hall of Waters and the Regent Springs in 4-color, a gift quality key chain with the "Valley of Vitality" logo, barbell shaped water bottles featuring the Hall of Waters and more...
More about exhibits...
Exhibits in the building depict the story of Excelsior Springs. They show common household items of the period of the late 1800's to early 1900's; pictures and stories of civic leaders; special places of interest as the Milwaukee Depot; unique events and festivities such as the Mineral Water Bowl; a beloved teacher - Ray Crowley and much, much more...
Hours of operation and admission:
The collection is available for viewing Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. to Noon and 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. A $1 donation is charged for admission. Members are free. You may participate in a guided tour or receive assistance with research on a subject of particular interest by appointment. We owe a debt of gratitude to the Excelsior Springs Chamber of Commerce who shares our location. Their generous assistance allows us to offer such extensive hours.
The Museum has depended primarily on memberships for its support. It has over time also received several small grants and memorials. These have allowed purchase of special items and equipment. We are grateful to the many adults, children, organizations and businesses in our community for their many years of support. For more information on how to join, please call (816) 630-3712, stop by or...
Back to Tourism & History Index